Travelers to NY, NJ, CT from high-risk coronavirus areas must quarantine

Gov. Cuomo made the announcement Wednesday.

Anyone visiting New York, Connecticut or New Jersey from Florida and other high-risk states for coronavirus will have to quarantine for 14 days, the governors announced Wednesday.

“We have to make sure the virus doesn’t come on again in a plane,” New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo said at a press conference, joined by Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont and New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy. “We worked hard to get the viral transmission down and don’t want it to go back up again.”

The quarantine applies to states with a 10% infection rate. Those states are Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas.

Florida had imposed a similar quarantine on New Yorkers at the start of the pandemic.

The news of the quarantine comes as all of New York’s key coronavirus figures appear to be flat or declining, according to an ABC News analysis, with the state seeing its lowest levels of hospitalizations on Wednesday. In New Jersey and Connecticut, there has been a decrease in the daily rate of positivity, hospitalizations and deaths, the analysis showed.

The governors called the quarantine “common sense.”

Metrics in the Tri-State area are hopeful, but an ABC News analysis showed that in 23 states there were increases in the daily rate of positivity and in 21 states there were increases in current hospitalizations.

Read The Full Article At ABC News. This content is provided by ABC News at public RSS feed. Please contact us if you have any questions.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.